Judge Blocks Release of Prince EP 'Deliverance'

'Deliverance' Denied: Release Of Posthumous Prince Record Stopped By Judge

Judge blocks sound engineer's release of Prince music

DELIVERANCE features six previously unreleased tracks: "Deliverance", "Man Opera" which includes a four-movement medley: "I Am", "Touch Me", "Sunrise Sunset", "No One Else"; and an extended version of "I Am".

At the hearing, Judge Wilhelmina M. Wright of the United States District court issued a temporary restraining blocking Boxill's efforts to release any of Prince's music and ordered him to "deliver all of the recordings acquired through his work with Paisley Park Enterprises" and return them to the estate, according to The New York Times.

Boxill planned to release the "Deliverance" EP on Friday, exactly one year after Prince died.

Prince's EP, titled 'Deliverance, ' which was announced Tuesday with the title track available for early streaming, has been removed from iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon Music and other streaming services. Listen to the album's first single "Deliverance" below.

Songs that Prince recorded a decade before his untimely passing were slated to be released on April 21, the first anniversary of the artist's death. He continues, "Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public".

He continued, "When considering how to release this important work, we chose to go independent because that's what Prince would have wanted".

The release, which was announced Tuesday and nearly immediately followed by a lawsuit from the artist's estate, was orchestrated by longtime Prince engineer George Ian Boxhill, who claimed co-writing and co-producing credits with the artist. Unless the court extends it, the restraining order will expire on May 3, before which there will be a court hearing.

The judge cited a confidentiality agreement allegedly signed by Boxill when he was recording with the singer back in 2006.

Ultimas noticias